Labor on Broadway: A Salute to Mine Workers, Dec. 2007

Lewis Black at Labor on Broadway
Lewis Black at Labor on Broadway, Dec. 2005

Lillian Roberts
Lillian Roberts at the 2007 Annual Awards Ceremony

Barbara Bowen
Barbara Bowen at the 2006 Annual Awards Ceremony

Bill Henning and Randi Weingarten
Bill Henning and Randi Weingarten
at the 2004 Annual Awards Ceremony

Roger Toussaint and Susan Sarandon
Roger Toussaint and Susan Sarandon
at the 2003 Annual Awards Ceremony

Hector Figueroa and Frank Goldsmith
Hector Figueroa and Frank Goldsmith
at the 2002 Annual Awards Ceremony

John Randolph
John Randolph at the 1991 Annual Awards Ceremony



Labor on Broadway

Every year our supporters gather to hear Broadway stars perform songs about work at our annual Labor on Broadway Benefit, one of our most popular events. Past performers have included, Rob Bartlett, Lewis Black, The Accidentals David Brunetti, Paul Butler, Ann Crumb, Andre de Shields, Kathy Deitch, Kevin R. Free, Randy Graff, Liz Larsen, Ken Prymus, Catherine Russell, Lewis Stadlin, David Strathairn, Sal Viviano, Lee Wilkof and William Wise.

This year's event, A Salute to Mine Workers, is scheduled for December 3. It celebrates the tremendous contribution mine workers have made to culture, industry, and workers rights. The evening's festivities will feature irresistible bluegrass and roots music inspired by the lives of miners from Appalachia, the Ozarks, and beyond!

We are thrilled to announce that Cecil E. Roberts, President of the
United Mine Workers of America will be speaking at the event.  

Get your tickets now!  Call Mark @ 212-539-5675; info@theworkingtheater.org

In 2006, Labor Off-Broadway featured a special performance of Mike Batistick's Port Authority Throw Down and was followed by dinner at Colors, Manhattan's first cooperatively-owned restaurant. Click here for pictures.

Renowned comedian Lewis Black headlined our 2005 benefit, which also featured Catie Lazarus, winner of Stand-Up NY's "Funniest New York Resident" contest and Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter Phoebe Snow The event was hosted by renowned Broadway actor Lee Wilkof. Click here for pictures.

In 2001, Labor on Broadway was presented in partnership with the Harburg Foundation, and featured a tribute to lyricist and activist Yip Harburg. Harburg was known as the "social conscience of Broadway" and wrote lyrics for "Brother Can You Spare a Dime", The Wizard of Oz and Finnian's Rainbow. Click here for pictures.

Annual Awards Ceremony

Every Spring, The Working Theater hosts a gala event honoring members of the theatrical and labor communities for bridging the gap between the arts, labor and community. This incredible evening consists of a cocktail reception, live entertainment, dinner, dessert and a ceremony honoring these extraordinary community members whose work embodies the values and mission of the Working Theater. 

Get your tickets now! 212.539.5675 or info@theworkingtheater.org

If you would like to donate to the Awards Ceremony silent auction, please contact us at: info@theworkingtheater.org.

Past Honorees

AT&T, The Only Unionized Wireless Company
Lieutenant Governor David Paterson
Lillian Roberts, Executive Director, District Council 37
and Featuring a Tribute to Gordon Parks

Barbara Bowen, President, Professional Staff Congress
Lois Gray, Cornell School of Industrial and Labor Relations
Stanley Plesent, Partner, Hogan and Hartson
Actors Eli Wallach and Anne Jackson

Esther Cohen, Executive Director, Bread and Roses
Betsy Gotbaum, Public Advocate for the City of New York
Patrick Quinn, Actor and National President, Actors' Equity Association
Tony Watson, Chairman and CEO, HIP Health Plan

Mitra Behroozi, Executive Director, 1199/SEIU National Benefit and Pension Funds
C. Virginia Fields, Manhattan Borough President
Randi Weingarten, President, United Federation of Teachers
William Wise, Actor, Original Working Theater Member

Michael Goodwin, International President, OPEIU
Bill Perkins, New York City Council Deputy Majority Leader
Susan Sarandon, Actor
Eleanor Tilson, Executive Director, Local 1199 SEIU National Benefit and Pension Fund

Jose M. Serrano, Council Member
Hector Figueroa, Secretary-Treasurer, Building Services Local 32B-32J
Sylvia Gutierrez-Grant, Local 1199/SEIU
Ronald Luraschi, Amalgamated Bank

Kathleen Hughes, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs
Roger Toussaint, Transport Workers Local 100
Jonathan Parker, The Segal Company
Jorge Ortoll and Ralph Peña, Ma-Yi Theatre Company

Hon. Christine Quinn, City Council Member, City of New York
Denis Hughes, President, New York State AFL-CIO
Arthur French, Actor

Hon. Ronnie Eldridge, City Council Member, City of New York
Ernesto Jofre, Manager, Local 169 UNITE
Peter Caponi, Director, Audience Extras

Martin Luther King Jr. Award:Moe Foner, Executive Director, Bread and Roses Project (Local 1199 National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees)
Theatre in the Schools Award:
 Vanguard High School, Louis Delgado, Principal and School for the Physical City, Mark Weiss, Principal
Special Award
: Bernie Minter, Rank and File Member, Local 1199

Hon Jerrold Nadler, Member of Congress (NY), U.S. House of Representatives, Eugene Eisner, Esq., Eisner & Hubbard, OyamO, Playwright

Sanford Meisner Service Award:Wynn Handman, Artistic Director, American Place Theater

Hon. Thomas Duane, City Council Member, City of New York
Josie McMillian, President, New York Metro Area Postal Workers Union
Thomas I. Acosta, Senior Vice President,
Smith-Barney Investment Advisors
Andre de Shields, Actor

Sanford Meisner Service Award :Virginia Louloudes, Executive Director, Alliance of Resident Theatres/NY

1994 (April)
Arthur Cheliotes, President, Local 1180 Communications Workers of America
Martin Luther King Jr. Award: Don Kao, President, Committee Opposed to Violence Against Asian Americans

1994 (December)
Dolores Huerta, Vice President, United Farm Workers of America
Martin Luther King Jr. Award:
Reverend David Dyson, Pastor, Lafayette Avenue Presbyterian Church, Brooklyn NY

Martin Luther King Jr. Award: Charles Ensley, President, Local 371, District Council 37, AFSCME

John Sayles, Actor, Producer, Director and Playwright
Woody King Jr., Artistic Director, New Federal Theatre
Lino Brocka, Director and Producer, Film and Theatre (in memorium)

John Randolph, Actor
Barbara Koppel, Film maker


The Working Theater 128 East Broadway Box 892 New York NY 10002-0892
212.539.5675 / Fax 212.780.4134